Monday, June 30, 2008


Is 1 year of the Luxury Tax going to kill you?

This could be Baron's last year - maybe even Nelly's. The window is closing fast and this may be our best chance to do some serious damage in the playoffs for a long while. Show the fans that you care about winning and understand the importance of logging as much winning basketball and playoff experience as possible for the young guys. They need to taste it. It needs to be instilled in their minds, to be part of their DNA. For Randolph, Belinelli, Wright, and Hendrix - it's important that they experience the exhilaration of the NBA post season now, so they feel the pain if they don't make it and aren't satisfied with just another 48 wins and an early vacation. Build a culture of winning.

Get a player that could help us get into the playoffs but has an expiring or a 2 year deal. Make the investment for this year, for the fans, for the team, for the organization. No more veteran minimum contracts. No more cheap solutions. This is the time to lay it all out on the line. Next year, Baron's $17 million comes off the books and then you could let the 1st stage of rebuilding begin.

Do what you can to make the playoffs next season because you never know how long it will be before you can make it back in.

Don't let the Trade Exception go to waste because you'll usually get what you pay for.


This is a partial list from Draft Express of deals that expire in 1 to 2 years. It includes players that are likely or could be available for trades or players that we could agree to taking as sweetener in an upgrade for one of our roster spots using the Trade Exception.

08/09's Expiring Contracts
RC=Rookie Contract
PG=Partially Unguaranteed

R. Nesterovic $8,400,000
Malik Rose $7,647,500
Ron Artest $7,400,000
Eric Snow $7,312,500
Drew Gooden $7,151,183
J. Stackhouse $7,000,000
Corey Maggette $7,000,000
Marquis Daniels $6,864,200
Chris Wilcox $6,750,000
Andrew Bogut $6,294,307 RC
Stromile Swift $6,200,000
Bobby Jackson $6,090,000
Matt Harpring $6,000,000
D. Marshall $5,950,894
Mikki Moore $5,784,480 PG
Marvin Williams $5,636,142 RC
Jeff Foster $5,500,000
Desmond Mason $5,400,000
Joe Smith $4,795,000
A. Pavlovic $4,696,250 PG
Steve Blake $4,590,000
Anthony Parker $4,550,000
Damon Jones $4,460,186
Jorge Garbajosa $4,250,000
Adam Morrison $4,159,200 RC
Raymond Felton $4,148,715 RC
Zaza Pachulia $4,000,000
Travis Outlaw $4,000,000
Martell Webster $3,771,133 RC
Tyrus Thomas $3,749,880 RC
Mike Conley $3,630,480 RC
James Posey $3,462,480
C. Villaneuva $3,448,050 RC
S. Williams $3,395,760 RC
Willie Green $3,388,000
Chucky Atkins $3,240,000
Channing Frye $3,163,769 RC
Trevor Ariza $3,100,000
Ike Diogu $2,912,822 RC
Randy Foye $2,815,560 RC
Chris Mihm $2,762,500
Corey Brewer $2,725,920 RC
Sean May $2,661,026 RC
Steve Francis $2,634,480
Rashad McCants $2,620,126 RC
Keith Bogans $2,550,000
Jason Hart $2,484,000
Joey Graham $2,449,184
Smush Parker $2,430,000
Saer Sene $2,252,400 RC
J.J. Redick $2,139,720 RC
Hakim Warrick $2,119,102
Acie Law $2,071,680 RC
H. Armstrong $2,032,800 RC
Nate Robinson $2,020,179 RC
Jarrett Jack $2,002,623
F. Garcia $1,983,453 RC
Eddie Jones $1,976,400
Maceo Baston $1,976,400
Jannero Pargo $1,976,400
Grant Hill $1,976,400
Luther Head $1,962,378 RC
Johan Petro $1,939,893 RC
Thabo Sefolosha $1,931,160 RC
Jason Maxiell $1,877,572
Julian Wright $1,869,600 RC
Ronnie Brewer $1,834,680 RC
Linas Kleiza $1,824,493
David Lee $1,788,033 RC
Cedric Simmons $1,742,760 RC
Brevin Knight $1,728,000
Rodney Carney $1,655,760 RC
Nick Young $1,602,960 RC
Shawne Williams $1,572,960 RC
Sean Williams $1,522,920 RC
O. Pecherov $1,446,720 RC
Quincy Douby $1,427,040
J. Crittenton $1,381,560 RC
Renaldo Balkman $1,369,920 RC
Jason Smith $1,326,360 RC
Daequan Cook $1,273,200 RC
Marcus Williams $1,262,520 RC
Jacque Vaughn $1,262,275
Jared Dudley $1,222,320 RC
Josh Boone $1,212,120 RC
Ronnie Price $1,188,000 RC
Wilson Chandler $1,173,480 RC
Kyle Lowry $1,163,520 RC
Morris Almond $1,081,440 RC
Ime Udoka $1,080,000
Jordan Farmar $1,080,000 RC
Aaron Brooks $1,045,560 RC
Maurice Ager $1,042,440 RC
Mardy Collins $1,034,760 RC
Arron Afflalo $1,015,440 RC
Alando Tucker $1,001,880 RC
Melvin Ely $998,398
S. Rodriguez $874,000 RC
Kyrylo Fesenko $810,000 RC
Solomon Jones $797,581
Leon Powe $797,581 RC
Josh McRoberts $711,517 RC
Glen Davis $711,517 RC
Dominic McGuire $711,517 RC
Aaron Gray $711,517 RC
Cheick Samb $711,517 RC
Ian Mahinmi $672,800 RC

09/10's Expiring Contracts
RC=Rookie Contract
PG=Partially Unguaranteed

Mike Miller $9,880,957
Antoine Walker $9,775,280 PG
Mehmet Okur $9,500,000
Cuttino Mobley $9,500,000
Kenny Thomas $8,775,000
Q. Richardson $8,700,000
Mark Blount $7,967,375
Darko Milicic $7,540,000
Etan Thomas $7,354,500
Hedo Turkoglu $7,354,500
Udonis Haslem $7,100,000
Antonio McDyess $6,813,050
Brian Cardinal $6,750,000
Earl Watson $6,600,000
Antonio Daniels $6,600,000
S. Abdur-Rahim $6,600,000
Jerome James $6,600,000
Luke Ridnour $6,500,000
Tim Thomas $6,466,600
Mike James $6,466,600
Tony Battie $6,292,000
A. Varejao $6,212,960
Brendan Haywood $6,000,000
Kyle Korver $5,263,636
Raja Bell $5,250,000
Rafer Alston $5,250,000
Speedy Claxton $5,209,454
Trenton Hassell $4,350,000
Greg Buckner $4,277,777
Bruce Bowen $4,000,000
Rasual Butler $3,945,000
Steven Hunter $3,696,000
Amir Johnson $3,666,666
Fabricio Oberto $3,500,000
Brian Cook $3,500,000
B. Scalabrine $3,413,793
Luis Scola $3,383,333
Damien Wilkins $3,300,000
Matt Bonner $3,267,000
Mark Madsen $2,840,000
Rajon Rondo $2,623,326 RC
Chuck Hayes $2,117,500
Travis Diener $1,740,000 RC
Gabe Pruitt $825,497 RC

No comments: